Friday, March 13, 2015

Restaurant Review: Shake Shack

This is not a review about burgers and fries from the beloved +SHAKE SHACK . Yes, the juicy hamburgers and crisp French fries may be what many people salivate over at the fast food joint. I am not one of them.

However, I do really like hot cocoa during the cold winter months as seen here and here, and I stopped in for a salted caramel hot chocolate during the latest winter storm in D.C. Shake Shack makes a mean hot cocoa, in addition to its famed selection of meat patties, hot dog variations, two types of fries, several creamy shakes, frozen custards, and soda floats.

Are you drooling yet?

It may not be healthiest food option, but the chain restaurant does do an excellent job explaining allergen information contained in each menu item. On its website, the company lists menu items based on vegetarian criteria, and if it contains milk, eggs, peanuts, wheat, shellfish, tree nuts, fish, gluten, sesame seeds, soy, or sulfites. To indicate that the ingredient may not contain an allergen but was processed in a facility where possible cross-contact occurs, a “P” is clearly displayed. 

As for the salted caramel hot chocolate: soy-free with a possibility of cross-contamination during processing.

Overall grade: B. Not all of the menu items at Shake Shack contain soy. Yet, to be truly soy-free it’s best to avoid the famous hamburgers and fries, because their website shows them to contain the allergen. Most of the frozen custards, shakes, and beverages or soy-free.

No comments:

Post a Comment